Sarawak rights, sovereign wealth fund among topics of discussion at PBB conference

KUCHING: State rights and Sarawak’s proposed sovereign wealth fund are among the topics likely to be discussed at Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu’s (PBB) triennial delegates’ conference this weekend.

PBB vice-president Datuk Seri Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah said he expected a lively and interesting debate on these issues, reflecting a more advanced mindset among delegates.

“In the past, we used to debate resolutions on how to assist entrepreneurs in villages to obtain contracts.

“Now we are talking about our carbon footprint, sovereign fund, how to get back more rights and how to protect our territory.

“To me, this kind of debate is more progressive and important,” he told reporters after chairing a state youth development steering committee meeting here on Wednesday (June 15).

Abdul Karim also said the lack of contests for PBB’s top posts in the three-day conference, which starts on Friday (June 19), reflected the members’ confidence in the current leadership following Gabungan Parti Sarawak’s (GPS) landslide victory in last December’s state election.

ALSO READ: Abang Johari wins president post unopposed in PBB polls

PBB is the backbone party of the ruling state coalition.

“There will only be a contest at the lower level, with 22 candidates nominated for 16 posts in the party’s bumiputra wing.

“It was not planned that way. We opened up the top posts for contest but the members respected what happened in the last state election.

“We have never secured such a big victory before, whereby we won 76 out of 82 seats.

“So there is a very good feeling among PBB members that the current team should continue to lead the party,” he said.

It was reported last week that Sarawak Premier Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg headed a list of candidates who were elected unopposed to PBB’s top posts for the 2022-2025 term.

PBB election officer Datuk Awang Bemee Awang Ali Basah said Abang Johari was the sole candidate nominated by all 82 branches for the president’s post.

Sarawak Deputy Premiers Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah and Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan were also retained unopposed as deputy presidents, while Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof and Datuk Seri Stephen Rundi were elected unopposed as senior vice-presidents.

Also elected unopposed were the party’s nine vice-presidents, who include the Women and Youth chiefs.

Source link

Leave a Reply